Non-Resident Medical Card

Utah Nonresident Medical Cannabis Card 

 State law does not allow bringing medical cannabis across the border into Utah. Visitors from out-of-state can legally use medical cannabis while in Utah, but only with a state-issued medical cannabis card. Fortunately, the process for obtaining a Utah nonresident card is fairly straightforward. 

Legal Requirements 

In order to qualify for a Utah nonresident medical cannabis card, two conditions must be met: 

  1. The individual making the application must possess a valid state-issued card from their home state. 
  2. The individual must be diagnosed with a condition included on Utah’s approved conditions list. 

It is not legal in Utah for a state resident to provide legally obtained medical cannabis to an out-of-state visitor under any circumstances. All medical cannabis consumed by visitors must be purchased by them at a state-licensed pharmacy with the use of a valid Utah nonresident medical cannabis card. 

Qualifying Medical Conditions 

Utah’s list of qualifying conditions is limited. Here is the official list (current as of Feb. 2024): 

  • Acute pain 
  • Acquired immune deficiency syndrome or HIV 
  • Alzheimer’s disease 
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis 
  • Autism 
  • Cachexia 
  • Cancer 
  • Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis 
  • Epilepsy or debilitating seizures 
  • Multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms 
  • Persistent pain lasting longer than two weeks 
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) 
  • A condition resulting in the individual receiving hospice care 
  • A terminal illness when the patient’s life expectancy is less than six months 
  • A rare condition or disease that affects less than 200,000 individuals in the U.S., as defined in federal law, and that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts using conventional medications (other than opioids or opiates) or physical interventions 

Conditions not on Utah’s list are ineligible for nonresident medical cannabis cards even if they are qualifying conditions in another medical cannabis state. 

Nonresident Medical Cannabis Card Duration 

Utah nonresident medical cannabis cards are timed to coincide with an out-of-state guest’s visit. A nonresident card is valid for 21 days from the date of first issue. Note that visitors cannot take medical cannabis with them out of the state. What is not consumed during a person’s visit must be destroyed. 

Out-of-state visitors can apply for up to two nonresident cards per calendar year. Visitors are urged to apply for their cards at least one month prior to their scheduled visit as it can take up to 15 days to get approval. 

How to Apply for a Nonresident Card 

All medical cannabis card applications in Utah or submitted electronically. Out of town visitors must first establish a Utah-ID account and set up a user ID and password for the medical cannabis Electronic Verification System (EVS). The first step in the process is to visit the website. 

After setting up a Utah-ID account, the EVS can be found at Navigating to the site gives a visitor access to the EVS portal. Visitors should click the registration link and then select ‘Non-Utah Resident’ to advance to the online application. A visitor simply follows the onscreen instructions to complete and submit the form. Upon completion, a visitor is expected to pay a $15 application fee. 

All medical cannabis card applications in Utah must be reviewed prior to approval. The approval process can take up to 15 days, though it rarely does. Upon approval, an out-of-state visitor will receive their medical cannabis card via email. The card can be carried on a mobile device or printed out. 

Visiting a Medical Cannabis Pharmacy  

All medical cannabis sold in Utah must be purchased at a state-licensed medical cannabis pharmacy. Out-of-town visitors must bring their nonresident cards with them to the pharmacy. Pharmacy personnel will verify a visitor’s card before approving any purchase. 

Utah regulations do not allow smoking cannabis. Available delivery forms in the state include: 

  • Aerosol 
  • Tablet 
  • Capsule 
  • Concentrated oil 
  • Liquid suspension 
  • Transdermal preparation 
  • Gelatinous cube 
  • Unprocessed cannabis flower in a tamper-evident and a resistant container that is opaque that contains a quantity that varies no more than 10% from the stated weight at the time of packaging 
  • Wax or resin 
  • Medical cannabis devices such as a vaping pen that warms cannabis material into a vapor without the use of a flame and that delivers cannabis to an individual’s respiratory system 

Visitors are urged to consult with a medical cannabis pharmacist at the time of purchase. 

Nonresident Cannabis Card FAQs 

Does Utah recognize medical cannabis cards from other states?
No, Utah only recognizes its own state-issued cards. Utah has no reciprocity agreements with any other states. 

How much is an out-of-state visitor allowed to possess or purchase?
Qualifying patients may not purchase or possess more medical cannabis than is necessary for 30 days of treatment. That amount cannot exceed more than 113 grams of unprocessed flower and more than 20 grams of total THC. In addition, patients may not purchase more than an amount than is necessary for 30 days of treatment within a single 30-day period. 

Can two visitors utilize the same nonresident card?
Every out-of-state visitor who wishes to consume medical cannabis in Utah must have their own nonresident card. Multiple visitors cannot share the same card. 

Can state residents purchase medical cannabis for their out-of-state guests?
No. Utah regulations prohibit medical cannabis patients from purchasing products for other people. 

How can a visitor check the status of their application?
Most applications are reviewed and approved within 15 days. A visitor wishing to check the status of their application can log in to the EVS and navigate to the patient page. Patient status should appear at the top of that page.